A Sweetness to the Soul (1995,2008)
Love to Water My Soul (1996,2008)
A Gathering of Finches (1997,2009)
Mystic Sweet Communion (1998)



Four frontier stories based on actual historical couples who had a dream and how their faith and families enabled them to succeed. Told through the eyes of the woman but each has a story of a strong man as well.


A Sweetness to the Soul

Based on historical characters and events, A Sweetness to the Soul recounts the captivating story of young, spirited Oregon pioneer Jane Herbert who at the age of twelve faces a tragedy that begins a life-long search for forgiveness and love. In the years that follow, young Jane finds herself involved in an unusual and touching romance with a dreamer sixteen years her senior, struggles to make peace with an emotionally distant mother, and fights to build a family of her own. Filled with heart-warming insight and glimpses of real-life pain, A Sweetness to the Soul paints a brilliant picture of love that conquers all obstacles and offers a powerful testimony to the miracle of God's healing power. Winner of the Wrangler Award from the Western Heritage Center and named to Oregon 100: Best books about Oregon published between 1800-2000. (1995, 2008)


Love to Water My Soul

A remakable story of God's constancy and provision for all lovers of history, romance and faith...
Based on historical characters and events, Love to Water My Soul recounts the dramatic story of an abandoned white child rescued by Indians. Among Oregon's Paiute people, Shell Flower seeks love and a pace of belonging...only to be cast away from her home.
In the years that follow, she faces a new life in the world of the white man--a life filled with both attachment and loss--yet finds that God faithfully unites her with a love that fills all longing in this heartwarming sequel to Jane Kirkpatrick's award-winner, A Sweetness to the Soul. (1996, 2008)


A Gathering of Finches

Based on historical characters and events, A Gathering of Finches tells the story of a turn-of-the-century Oregon coastal couple and the consequences of their choices, as seen through the eyes of the wife, her sister, and her Indian maid. Along the way, the reader will discover reasons to trust that money and possessions can't buy happiness or forgiveness, nor permit us to escape the consequences of our choices. The story emphasizes the message that real meaning is found in the relationships we nurture and in living our lives in obedience to God.(1997, 2009)


Mystic Sweet Communion

In 1900, Ivy Cromartie Stranahan gives up a promising teaching career to join her husband at the remote New River trading post in south Florida - but she doesn't give up her love for learning or her passion for righting wrongs. In this remarkable story of God's faithfulness and one woman's commitment, Ivy becomes a friend to the Seminole people, their teacher of forbidden English and the Christian faith, and finally, their spokesperson in a time of turmoil. Like all of us who search for meaning, Ivy yearns to experience the power of faith, understand the limitation of human protection, and learn the importance of perseverance in caring for those we love. (1998)

Critical Reviews for Jane Kirkpatrick's Dream Catcher Series

"The best novels leave the reader changed in some significant way. A Sweetness to the Soul does that literally from its opening pages.... It is a celebration of those things that connect us, that make us what we are, that give us joy, and sorrow, and understanding." --The Statesman Journal, Salem, Oregon

“In A Sweetness to the Soul, Kirkpatrick offers a testimony to God’s ability to fulfill our dreams, in spite of our human propensity to question the why and how of situations. Through the eyes of Jane Sherar, readers come to recognize that blessings are hidden in the midst of everyday life and often only understood within the context of the passing of time.”
- Cascades East Magazine

“Her research gives the book depth; her empathy gives it a soul.”
- The Sunday Oregonian

“Rich with sensory imagery, well-developed characters, and peppered with native words, the novel brings alive the traditional and transitional lives of the native people of Oregon in the late nineteenth century.” - Christian Library Journal for Love to Water My Soul

[Love to Water My Soul] is impossible to put down… Kirkpatrick’s prose is chiseled with wrenching images that draw one into the story and engage one’s senses… Jane Kirkpatrick has written another fine western novel.” - Persimmon Hill magazine

Writer's Recollections

I think of this series as a collection. It all started when I convinced the publishers that I could write four books about four frontier couples. They accepted that idea and then I had to come up with them. It was with this series that I first learned that choosing the title is a team effort.

click on title to order

sweetness  Love

finches  mystic





A Sweetness to the Soul




Oregon100Oregon 100

In celebration of the Oregon State Library’s Centennial, the Oregon Cultural Heritage Commission chose 100 books from the years 1800 to 2000 that exemplify the best of Oregon’s rich literary heritage. Jane's A Sweetness to the Soul was included in that list.


Oregon 150

To celebrate Oregon’s 150th birthday, 150 books were carefully selected by the librarians at the Oregon State Library in Salem. Jane’s book, A Sweetness to the Soul is included on that list!


A Sweetness to the Soul was on the Christian Booksellers Association Bestsellers List 1995-1996